78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



brrrr (sarcasm)
2008-06-11   11:32 a.m.

Eww - i totally had the flu earlier this week*. I ranged from feeling angry to guilty; angry over how/where I contracted it, guilty for those I (unknowingly) exposed. Rutgers' gym? Classroom? Chinatown? Vietnamese restaurant in Chinatown? Tanzanian Consulate? NYC Subway? Starbucks? 42nd st. and 7th ave? These are either perpetrators or victims in the flu-crime.

I was running a 102 fever for two days - which I haven't done since, oh, 1989. I get sick, I'm not claiming not to, but to get a fever like I did when I had the chicken pox in middle school? Bleh. I obviously had no choice but to miss work/play for the better part of the weekend & week. I also had to convince myself not to run/lift/commence pilates torture/write/research/study French when I began to feel slightly more like myself. It was a good exercise in rest and stillness, I suppose. I got some antibiotics from the doc, because even though I usually sweat these things out (literally) rather than take medicine, I would fear entering East Africa with a highly compromised and recovering immune system.

But now I'm back to work, or "work"; I am writing a paper right now about the large-scale civic engagement of artist Suzanne Lacy, and I will head down to the Uni tonight for my class, but somewhere in and among those things I also plan to have a looooong coffee with Jen and watch a new Frontline documentary on the UN's failure to handle genocide crises in Sudan (spoiler alert: china sucks). I will not run today, as I'm still a little body-achy despite my 12 hours of non-fever, but tomorrow, it's on.

*At least that's what I think. My doc shrugged and wrote me a script for zythro without really saying that's what it was. Plus regarding the "eww" - the extra "w" is for extra "ew", since temps reached 100+ this week in my part of the country. Fever+heatwave=eww.