78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



What's this? No stress?
2007-04-04   10:58 a.m.

My god, I'm actually finding myself with fifteen minutes of free time. So what did I go and do? Emailed my newest boss, Nancy, to tell her "I have free time, what do you need done?". Total masochist. Or, female who can't resist all that taught me to always put others first. Or perhaps Catholic guilt? I have begun working on a National Science Foundation-funded grant at NJIT which addresses and assess climate for women faculty, fostering stronger networks between them and overall, just trying to create a better atmosphere for a stronger presence for women. It is quite funny that since we are an all-female team, we are an anomaly there, and often get regarded suspiciously as a result. When we have working lunches or even walk down the street together to, say, get to the faculty club to have said working lunch, we get lots of stares or curious looks. If it's rare enough to see a woman on campus, imagine FIVE of them walking down the street TOGETHER. What on earth is that? Just what the hell are they up to? Seriously, you'd think we are a terrorist group. I guess we are, in a way. Lipstick Jihad, indeed. It's a surprisingly pleasant feeling.

xoxox