78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



A New Theme Party...
2007-02-13   9:26 p.m.

Tony, Jersey City king of theme parties for grown ups, is throwing a big one this Saturday: "Tyrants & Dictators". Isn't he the greatest? (Yes)

First I wanted to be Idi Amin, but that's, like, soooo overdone these days, what with Forrest Whittaker's portrayal of him in The King of Scotland. Then, I wanted to be Eva Peron, but I thought people might think I was Madonna. Plus, Eva Peron was neither a dictaor, nor a tyrant, but don't tell the Argentinians I said that. So then, I thought, Gaddafi. Better still: Gaddafi's WOMEN! If you're unsure of just what the hell I'm talking about, welcome to a man, country, and political paradox steeped in weirdness and delicious irony.

Gaddafi surrounds himself with a cadre of hot military women, what the press like to call "Amazonian girls" (he used to employ tall, blond, hyper-fit German women, but now employs the Libyan population, how anti-outsourcing of him!). As far as we can deduce, they're his body guards. Do you LOVE it?

First, it's funny: "Fulla on steroids! hot hot HOT!"

Then, it's ironic: "Hey, your country restricts women's lives, operating on the belief that they're physically and mentally inferior to men. But then you train and enlist a select few to defend your life. What gives?"

Then, it's confusing: "So do I, like, like you, even though you're a big terrorist and stuff? Do I respect you for being brave enough to fly in the face of a pervasive international attitude that women are incapable of the physical and mental agility it takes to be an elite combat machine? Or am I creeped out, it's kind of icky that you fetishize military women and insist on keeping them around for your amusement?"

So in other words, it's SO ME! Gotta hit the Army Surplus before Saturday. I hope the JC party crew gets their game on with me: girls, should I pick up some uniforms for you too? Should we do a little tai chi this week on my spacious new deck? Should we play laser tag in the woods to work on our aim?

We just need a Gaddafi. But who's a big enough Commie to pull that off? (I vote Steve. He's "Of the People". Plus, something tells me Tom won't wear a Dashiki, no matter how we may beg.)

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting