78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



In not so many words...
2006-03-26   8:17 p.m.

Retro-type cocktail parties are fun.

Nicole and I threw one last night at her place. Bunnyhops and Sidecars abounded, Martinis, ascots, bouffonts and cigarette holders were all the rage. I stuffed myself into a black velvet a-line that was my mom's (she's a wee smaller than I on the waist-chest-shoulders front; got my dad's linebacker shoulders, and my grandma's boobs, I did) and endured as much red-lacquer lipstick, pearls, and polka dot stiletto-wearing as was humanly possible. Wheee!

Also fun: my new office at NJIT.

Seems like they understand that human workers like sunlight, windows, and well-ventilated workspaces. Those wacky technophiles! They're so scary smart!

Not as fun: my office's glass doors.

Not that I'm changing clothes in my office or anything, but a little privacy would be nice. I'm promised a blind; we shall see. Every time I pass an admin in the hall, though, they say they're all over it, in a very "I'm right on top of that, Rose!" sort of way (props if you get that reference!). I'm almost tempted to think they'd care if I was unhappy. Heavens to mergatroid!

Ran 9 miles this week.

Over three days, of course - who do you think I am?

My favorite Australian serial drama killed off my favorite strong female character.

She was smart and tough as nails and ran a biiiiig ranch in the outback all by herself (Ok - with her half sister Tess). And now she's gone. Sniff. Whom do I sue?

Redeeming air miles sucks.

Looks like I can do it this summer after all, though, to go to Rome/Tunisia with my lovely husband. Get a load of what they had to offer me: Newark-Amsterdam-Milan-Rome-Tunis. With days in between here and there. Uh, are we on the Amazing Race?

Me: "There's nothing direct into Tunis?"

Cust.Serv rep: "No ma'am."

I find it hard to believe that all the frequent flyer miles seats on board Continental Flight four-hundred-whatever are GONE. Who are all these people flying from Newark to Tunis using miles? Are they kidding?

Oh well. We usually plan on one country and wind up in three, anyway. Ciao, bella.

xoxox