78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



Theresa the Vaccination Queen
2004-06-22   4:50 p.m.

Happily on my way to see Dr. M today, feeling like a champ since I already have all the shots the WHO suggests travelers headed to Southern Africa get, I was quickly deflated when my husband uttered a nasty little word: "boosters". Meh.

You see, he had his appointment this morning, and returned covered in band-aids, all achy and feeling sluggish. On my way out to mine, I realized I'd return the same way. At least I was blissfully ignorant for most of the morning leading up to my appointment this afternoon. So now, shot full of hep B, hep A, and typhoid vaccines, I have dead arm in several places and I feel a little woozy. Good thing all I have to do tomorrow is teach two classes and present some ideas about composition theory to a few department chairs at a pretty important meeting! And good thing all I have to do tonight is drive out to JFK to pick a couple of people up at 9 pm!

So we missed the Aldo's annual summer family picnic, but I was still thrilled to be invited. I'm starting to feel like I work there, since Steve and I keep getting invited to all these outings. We skipped it to get massages, which I'm afraid now might become a habit. We went to a beautiful spa and had really skilled therapists working on us, and everything from my skin to my back seems to feel better this week. We went into the Village afterwards to have an anniversary dinner, since we've been married for a year already (!!! - our anniversary was Monday), and then we went to Prospect park in Brooklyn to see Ladysmith Black Mambazo play. They were amazing - contemplative, soulful, and fun. It was a glorious scene full of wonderful people - many of whom were excessively friendly and talkative to us.

I met a woman from Stellenbosch (in Southern South Africa) waiting in line for the bathroom, and she said we simply must do this and that as soon as I told her we'd be in the country traveling by ourselves for several days before our overland company picks us up. I noticed that the white South Africans I meet here have LOTS of money and consequently make really expensive suggestions for our itinerary. Good thing my students and other South African friends are as poor as me and Steve.

I'm in the middle of Bellow's Henderson the Rain King, and it is very weird indeed. I'll make a decision about it when I finish it, which I better get crackin' on if I think that will happen before tomorrow night, when our ragamuffin book club meets at McG's. I can't wait to see Kevin, Sam, Ryan, and all the other guys I went to school with. I think the perpetual student in me misses that pretentious banter and pontificating that comes along with grad school classes. So tomorrow night, I'll be up for some.

Oh yes, and some shots from the 80's prom. I was wearing more make up that night than I wear in two months, and I decided to wear all my bracelets. So as for the close up, I don't normally look like such an...Eastern European prostitute. The rest are self explanatory, I think.

xo,

T

Every Body Wang Chung!

Like it matters which Corey it is!

Keep Feeling Fascination!

Who's Bad? (Sha-MON)

Of course they were doing the robot. Well what do you do when "Axel F" comes on?

All I Want is You!