78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



feeling better now
2004-04-22   5:22 p.m.

I am thinking of somewhere far away. I am thinking of earth and sky, smells that come along with each. I am thinking of endless colors that stretch out across vast and broad landscapes, uninterrupted by anything we've created or have a word for. I hear Cafe Tacuba, I hear King Sunny Ade. Reveling in how fast the foreign can become the familiar, I wonder how much longer we can last where we are.

But then, I remember snugglemuffin, and I don't ever want to be too far, for too long:

get Steve's face! Get it!

My sister in law is pregnant - due in September, we're going to Africa, and I have Jury duty. Two years ago, at this time, my sister in law was pregnant - due in September, we were going to Africa, and I had jury duty.

WEIRD!

But good. I am convinced that everything will be fine with everything since these variables were in place in this exact combo two years ago, when everything was fine. Gee, does that need a little clarification? I'll explain:

The other day I said "Well I'll get out of Jury duty, since I did last time when we were going to Africa". Additionally, I said "The baby will be born healthy, right after we get back from Africa, since the last baby was born healthy, right after we got back from Africa".

I do believe this is called a logical fallacy, and you can't possibly believe that I rely on it or have faith in its reliability. Just like you can't possibly believe that I'm not superstitious, ever.

What a zany day. We're going away for a bit this weekend, to let the White House know we're not going to take it anymore, and that their war on women's rights must stop. The March for Women really has grown to historic proportions, and I'm glad - it's important to show the government, but most importantly the world, that there are huge numbers of people in this country interested in both civil rights and exercising their voices in defense of change. Steve and I will be going down with some friends - we leave Saturday afternoon. I'm really excited, and he is too - pictures and stories will abound as soon as we get home.

Hope to see you there,