78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



The State of My Reflections
2004-01-22   10:45 p.m.

I found it hard to tear myself away from the latest copy of Vogue long enough to actually pay attention to the State of the Union address. More likely, since that magazine rarely does capture my interest, I was just trying to protect myself from rage, given that promises made by W that sounded relatively impressive in previous State of the Union addresses (like more eco-friendly and efficient fuel sources, more funding for this "No Child Left Behind" turd of a program) have completely disappeared. How about that health care program, guys? Ah, good ol' 2002.

I guess some masochistic part of me decided to leave it on. I guess I had to remind myself why it's so important to do what I do - teach people how to think critically, essentially. I noticed in our leader's eloquent speech that the tangible and existent "Weapons of Mass Destruction" that we went to war and essentially lost thousands of lives over have now become "weapons of mass destruction-related program activities". Quoi?

Hooray for double speak!

Equally frightening to me was the line about "protecting the sanctity of marriage", which is really code for "obstruction of civil rights". Oh yes, please, let's write into the constitution that only one way of living is acceptable. In fact, why don't we go back to the days before Stonewall, when we could just round up people and throw them in jail because of who they love and how they have sex.

My overzealous associations aside, I do think it's worth noting that it's easy to for a government to slip from something that seems acceptable to a broad public to something that people might be appalled at. Take, for example, the confusion over whether or not causing a woman to miscarry as the result of assault could qualify as a murder charge. Well sure, most people would say, that would render a steeper punishment for the attacker. But wouldn't it be easy to move from punishing said attacker to, say, an OB/GYN who performs abortions?

I'm well past conspiracy theories, but I've also lived long enough under republican leaders to know their shifty tricks. I'm afraid for my privacy, afraid for our economy, afraid for my non-existent children and the state we'll leave them with. I'm afraid for the environment and for my civil rights. I can't believe we've regressed this much. I really hope we see some changes, whomever implements them.

Why, oh why must Dean continue to act like a maniacal fanatic? He's fought so tirelessly for laborers, and wholeheartedly supports civil liberties. His state not only protects them, but is progressive in developing them - Civil Unions are recognized and legal in Vermont. Imagine that! People are people after all and they deserve to be treated equally! What will they think of next?

Argh.

School started this week and I love love love my schedule and love love love my classes. The enrollment fairy has once again blessed me - in three of my five classes, including my Intro to WS - I have UNDER 15 people. Hooray! My Lit class is very talkative and warm, and my Intro to WS class has six (count 'em!) men in it, which is nearly half the class. Viva la difference.

The Honors class I'm teaching looks like it will be exciting as well; we're spending a few weeks on violence and war in literature, and then a few more on literature of protest.

I have a full sink of dishes because of our fabu dinner party - we made teriyaki stir fry, tofu and chicken, with the most delish home made sauce. I must say I didn't think I'd be able to eat a whole cannoli after dinner, but somehow I managed. mmmm, cannoli.

It's ok, I think I burned off most of that sugar laughing at Most Extreme Elimination Challenge, which I'm slowly starting to realize is better as a group experience.

...must...clean...

ok, I can't fight the urge to wash the dishes any longer.

night,

T