78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



pele pele
2003-10-19   9:04 p.m.

I keep dreaming of a beautiful place and a large house. The house is way up on a cliff, there is blue blue water down below and lots of green dotted throughout the cliffs - tropical flowers that hang down off of low trees with burgandy and purple and yellow everywhere. I wonder where it is; most places I've been to and taken in that look like that have been too dusty and dry to be green; Ghana was green that way next to the ocean but didn't have any cliffs. Greece was dusty and sparsely vegitated. Italy was too rocky and temperate for tropical flowers. Puerto Rico doesn't really have the peaks that these cliffs in my dreams do.

There are lots of people in the large house - they're always from everywhere and seem to know me well. We're always all eating in the dream - poolside, barely clothed, laughing, in a dozen different languages. Last time I dreamed this dream I woke up laughing - lady-brett was there but looked different, even thinner, taller somehow, and pregnant.

I always take a walk in the dream - up a hill and down a hill on a winding dirt path. It starts to rain, heavy rains; it makes the pathway slippery. I start to slide and grab anything I can - vines, stones, anything. There are no people around me, so I start running since the rain gets so bad; I want to find some people. I run along this path on the edge of the cliff - I look down at the jagged shoreline strewn with rocks, I almost fall on more than one occasion. The rain gets worse, as I run it pours in on me over my ankles, rushing over my feet and starting to pool up until I'm knee deep. I find some people, and watch horrified as the water starts rising over their heads. I dive underneath to see who I can find - I grab for anything - hair, grasping hands, legs. I come up for air and cannot find anyone. I feel the water move like an ocean tide - it's coming down from a higher mountain and starting to spill off of the cliff, over into the ocean. It's forming a giant waterfall, and taking people with it. I'm desperate to find Steve, i start thinking about my family and how sad they'll be that i've died in some tropical foreign country in a natural disaster.

I always find shelter in the dream though, always in the form of an abandoned house; i'm able to grab onto the top parts of the foundation - there are columns extending up that the water cannot break down.

I always find Steve but our friends are missing. We cry and tell each other it's ok, we're alive, we both have survived.

When I wake up from this dream I'm calm. I start to wonder if I've lived it before or will live it sometime in this life.

Dreams like that make me wonder where i'll go and what i'll be doing; who will be around me. I know I'm not destined to live the simple life most people have carved out for themselves; I like that Steve said that on one of our first dates. I think most people take that as arrogance if they don't look at how it's meant. I understand, though; some people find little satisfaction in the ordinary, but then at the same time can find beauty in other cultures' mediocrity.

It's a life that's going to involve so much sacrifice, but as travel-addict puts it so beautifully, for travelers, mobility and wanderlust become the white-picket fence and the home, become the husband and the kids.

I've managed to meet someone whom even in my dreams survives the extrodinary with me. Is that coincidence? Or my dad helping me out from above?

I think I started thinking about this again for a number of reasons. I had the dream again a few weeks ago, and since I've announced my travel plans for the winter - visiting a friend in Brazil - everyone has decided to tell me how dangerous it is.

Been down this road before, so here we go again. I have to do some research on the consulate page so that I can arm myself with educated replies to all the Brazil-bashing "advice" I'm going to get in the next three months.

Bring it on.

xoxoxo

T