78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



baby philosophy
2003-08-07   12:21 p.m.

And while I'm on it about having something to prove, bitter is ugly.

It's really a sad thing when you see people so wrapped up in their own bitterness that they can't even see how they're presenting themselves anymore; so wrapped up that they just don't care how pathetic it looks, they just want everyone's pity.

"I never saw a wild thing sorry for itself. A small bird will drop frozen dead from a bough without ever having felt sorry for itself." - DH Lawrence

And yet we, with our corporate jobs, education, housing and cars all so accessible to us, insist that we are often the biggest victims on the planet, because so-and-so is a bitch to us or somebody won't return our phone calls, doesn't like us anymore, or thinks our music/writing/art/clothes suck. Because we've just been sooo wronged by someone else, and we need everyone to feel sorry for us to validate our very existence.

Blah. I say: we don't have to be that way. It's a crutch for so many, though, I feel they might be lost for good. It's sad, especially when you knew what they could have been like.

So I'm reading my little Zen companion again. It makes me happy.

It's easy to be, you see, just look at this:

Now isn't that better? He doesn't think he's in a mighty position to judge anyone. Also, after he gets angry, he soon forgets and moves on to happier things. Ah, the Tao of Babies. Think I might be on to something?

I'm off to snuggle the little pumpkin now.

T