78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



Éireann go Brách
2003-05-19   11:10 a.m.

Sláinte! Dia dhuit. I'm home! And it's my birthday! Well, it was yesterday, anyway. I had a great day, despite the fact that I was about five hours ahead of everyone and sleepy as hell by 9:30. Thanks Lisa, both Krises, Bruno, Andrew, Steve, Regina, Sean, and everyone else for the amazing gifts and for just being there with me last night to throw a couple back and listen to me babble on about Ireland.

It's such a cliché thing to say, I think, for an American of Irish descent, but I felt quite at home in Ireland, more so than I've ever felt in any country. I always try to picture myself living in the country I'm visiting. This helps me do a few things:

1. Understand what is and isn't appropriate spending - i.e., if I was "living" and not "vacationing", would I go to that restaurant and spend that much on a salad? Or is there a more practical yet pleasant alternative?

2. Not be obnoxious/observe local customs. I really don't think I have a problem with this, as for all the things people can and have rightfully called me before, obnoxious wouldn't make sense. However, if no one tosses their ciggys in the street, I won't either. If everyone tips the bartender 15%, I will too.

When I pictured myself living in Ireland, I really pictured myself securely there. Not "oh, maybe a fulbright", or "oh, maybe for a year or two". We're talking raising children, day in, day out, buying property living there. It's clean, healthy, and beautiful; people are good, kind, and take pride enough in their land not to destroy it or cram condos in among every open spot. For a people who have been destroyed again and again, with everyone from the vikings to England moving in and taking away their land, then persecuting them for practicing first Paganism, and then Catholicism, they certainly still love and appreciate humanity and all of its curiosities. Being nice to strangers just seems a natural instinct, a default m.o.

The one thing I really couldn't do without this week that made me feel down was Steve - I missed him so much, more, I think, than I would realize. I can hear past versions of myself saying that's ridiculous, etc., etc., it's only a week, blah blah blah, but I guess I really am very in love. Aw, gosh.

Mom and I went through several counties in Ireland, in this order, more or less: We started in Shannon, in Co. Limerick, then traveled north and west into Clare, Galway, Connemara, Mayo, Sligo, and Donegal - a region which is still Gaelic speaking, believe it or not (Gaelic language tv/radio channels! More than one!). These western counties are all so beautiful - rural, natural and clean. Most of them are coastal, as well, so we felt, sometimes, like we were on the edge of the world, where there is nothing but the path of nature to look at.

Ahem, sorry for the Emerson moment. After we left Donegal, we traveled south and east into Northern Ireland - Armagh, to be exact. There, in the actual town of Armagh, they have 2 very large, very opulent (well, opulent for the Irish) St. Patrick's Cathedrals - one Protestant, the other Catholic - on opposite sides of the town, built on two hills which face one another. Oi, indeed.

Things have calmed down immensely in Northern Ireland since the 1998 Good Friday Peace Treaty. However, things are a bit feisty again since - and i'm not sure American media would run this or not, so if this is old news, excuse moi - a supposed "British double agent" has been kidnapped, possibly, by the IRA. If there is such IRA activity again, all kinds of stipulations will have been violated. Hence, most likely, the fact that Mum and I saw numerous British soldiers looking mean and snarling at people all around the town and at the border. Argh, lets say prayers and do incantations or spells or write to Tony Blair or whatever it is we do to hope that that situation never becomes so volatile again.

We finished our trip in Dublin, which is a beautiful city with an awesome music scene - Irish traditional, Punk, and Folk alike. Thanks to Dermot for all the Irish history and culture lessons/refreshers, and for being so patient with me and Mum. Loves ya.

Here's me and Mum in Clare, at the Cliffs of Moher and O'Brien's Tower.

Dave says that if I ever decide to release "Theresa sings Celtic Acoustic", which I never will because Theresa doesn't sing Celtic Acoustic, I should use this second picture as an album cover. Well maybe for my book....

haha, so vain.

xoxox

Go raibh maith agat, friends, thank you so much for stopping by.