78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



hiatus interruptus
2008-01-28   4:45 p.m.

I'm here, haven't gone anywhere; just in my head are so many weird and discordant threads of ideas it's hard to update my blog. But I do so love it - been doing so for five years - and so I cannot stay away now. School started again, with both classes I have been teaching (fun) and classes I am taking (ow). The latter consists of a "world history" of sorts, but perhaps it's more accurate to say it consists of states-system-relation analysis, along with a heavily euro-centric examination of how historically little & big boys did or did not play nicely with each other across artificial boundaries they created out of convenience or boredom. Ow. I am having a hard time fitting myself and my academic pursuits into this realm, but I suppose I should be thankful for such a challenge. So I suppose I am.

We went to a party at Diane's apartment in Stuy-Town most of Saturday (2-8). We had giant bottles of Chianti, really good Italian pastry, lots of time to gossip, and we still managed to get home and take it easy by 10 pm or so. I am so into afternoon parties now: all the fun but none of the soreness and oh-my-god-i'm-too-old-to-stay-out-til-4-am sleepies the next day. Plus a bonus: no tunnel traffic while shuttling twixt manhattan and jersey.

I'm going to make turkey chili. I promise I’ll be more energetic next time round.