78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



now where? (or, if you like, nowhere)
2007-03-11   9:36 p.m.

And on that note, I feel like I'm lost in a credit card commercial, trying to redeem my awards miles but hitting dead ends everywhere. This morning's efforts included my friendly Delta rep telling me that while she cannot get me from NYC, Philly, or ATL to Cape Town in July, she can get me from NYC to Accra. Well that would be swell! Only Accra is in Ghana, thanks, which puts me about as far from Cape Town as...NYC. We-hell.

So yeah, that's me, in that commercial about how much waiting to cash in your rewards sucks. I'm the guy who's trying to ride trails without a mountain bike.

But this might just be fate, after all. This trip has gone from 8 people, to five, then down to four. Then Jen told us her property is getting reassessed, so she's facing a sucky tax situation. Then Thomas told us that he's going to Ireland twice this year and maybe India next year, so he's not sure about Cape Town. Then David, who lives in Cape Town, told us that he will in fact be in Kenya through July, and that we'd only be able to meet up and swing through Stellenbosh/Garden Route hot spots in August. But we wanted to be back by then so Nicole and me could get some work done. So Steve and I thought about going to Mozambique, or Namibia, but the dates don't seem to be working out.

Meanwhile, Claudio and Roberta, the Italians we met in Tunisia last summer, have been writing every week. And while this may sound strange, since I guess I don't really know them very well, I miss them. There's something about being in such surreal, extreme environs that bonds people, for sure; but I think we know them from a past life or something. Ahem.

Anyway, yours truly found that we can easily get from NYC to Amsterdam by cashing in miles, and yours truly's husband found a flight from Amsterdam to Rome, Claudio and Roberta's hood, for $165. Well, indeed.

So what do we do? Bite it and pay for Cape Town? Go to Mozambique ourselves? Finally get to Mali (think I can use miles for a NYC-Bamako flight? Think there's such at thing as an NYC-Bamako flight?) Or do we give our livers a break? Haven't been to Europe in a while, and it's hard to imagine traveling in a country that's actually developed and has, like, infrastructure and stuff. But should we do it?? Several members of the aforementioned travel crew have said they could afford/would like to go to Amsterdam for a bit, if not to Rome and Sorrento and Florence, too, this summer. EEEEE!

Whoops, look at the time. Must...watch...Galactica.

Yeah, I'll just keep fuzzing this all out until I really really have to make a decision. Good thing this is spring break.

xoxo