78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



I had a few minutes
2006-11-11   7:04 p.m.

Somewhere, some one thinks it's the apocalypse, I'm sure.

Women swept the elections in record numbers (more important to me than just "dems" swept the election; cause however this makes me look as I say it, I will: I'm sick of politics being an old boy's club, period. This does not, however, mean I'd like someone like Phyllis Schlafly in Congress, woman or no).

Nancy Pelosi is speaker of the house (if only someone would take out the other two - she'd be our man. And I bet she'd know what to do with Kim Jong Il).

Also a sign of the apocalypse: I've been watching Battlestar Galactica on the SciFi network - yes, the same one I made fun of Thomas for watching. But how deliciously fascinating it has been: gender critiques abound (or are interestingly made a non-issue), analysis of contemporary issues (the torture question, insurgency and terrorism's roots, neo colonization efforts) are woven through each episode, and an aggressive theme of faith and reason - or faith versus reason - abounds.

Not that I really have time to watch it; the house is ours, and we're both afraid. And excited. And consumed - what would you think of pumpkin spice walls with brown cabinets and white ceramic tiles in a kitchen? Too 70's? Eh. We're taking a break and heading into the city tonight to meet Michael and Irene. I'll try not to think about paint chips, power washing, or pergo floors while I'm there.

xoxo