78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



nothing sacred
2006-09-20   10:25 p.m.

So I hear Angelina Jolie will be portraying Marianne Pearl (wife of Daniel Pearl) in the movie version of the book Marianne wrote after Daniel's extensively televised kidnapping and death. I guess it makes sense since Angelina and Marianne have been photographed together tons lately and are apparently bffs. But, um - isn't Marianne Pearl black or hispanic or both? (yes.) And isn't Angelina white? (yep.)

So...there were no black or hispanic or both actresses who could play Marianne Pearl? Or is this an Oscar grab, sort of like when pretty actresses were playing "ugly" or "fat" (more like "average") for the sake of their art and, apparently, for the sake of our appreciation of their art? And would Angelina be the star if Brad Pitt's production company weren't funding the film?

I just don't know what to make of Angelina and Brad. I like their philanthropy, but feel like they get showy at bad times and forget what the heck they're even doing in Kazakhstan in the first place when the paparazzi show up. For example, it is important to make a movie about Daniel Pearl's story, I guess, but why does Angelina have to star (especially when the casting doesn't make sense)? For another: I like that Brad Pitt said "Angelina and I won't get married until all Americans are allowed the same right, regardless of sexual preference," but is he so arrogant that he actually thinks his marital status is so important to the American consciousness that it would motivate a change in legislation?

I guess I have to cut some slack: it's probably impossible for celebrities not to be narcissistic or egocentric, and as celebrities go, at least B & A seem to spread their billions around rather than dumping it all into gold plated hummers and embarrassing restaurant chains.

The problem with celebrity philanthropy is the recklessness of the giving, though; no point in throwing money at a country, charity, or organization if it's horribly mismanaged or corrupt. A couple of organizations Angelina backs or has been a face for are notorious for such mismanagement, some even seeming to perpetuate the very imperialist approach to the third world that assumes "these poor savages can't help themselves". But do I hold her (and Brad) responsible for being smart and careful enough to know that? Did either even graduate from high school? Have they ever read a book by an economist that discusses poverty and/or approaches to eradicating "developing nation" debt? Do they consider politics, and the intricate complexities of religious and cultural intersections? All of this is important to consider when you have much cash to spread around - maybe they should just let Bill and Melinda Gates, uber educated and conscious of such issues (cause their foundation employs economists, duh), do all the work.

Or maybe I'm just being too critical. It wouldn't be the first time my unrealistic expectations made me too judgmental. Got a big old slice of humble pie this weekend on that line when I attended a party at the home of someone I assumed was a total hobo who lived in squalor. I went because my friends really wanted to, but was pleasantly surprised that the home was clean, attended by loverly people, and that I didn't get scabies from using the bathroom. I felt a fool and yelled at myself on the inside for being too presumptuous about the nice young man who had invited us. But then someone offered me cocaine, or Quaaludes, or something else equally 1970's-after-school-special, and I let myself a bit off the hook. I mean really - Quaaludes? Give me a freaking break. "I'm gonna have to just say no," I said, because I can't imagine what else you're supposed to say when people are doing 1970's-after-school-special drugs and trying to get you to play along. A 1980's-hokey anti-drug slogan seemed most appropriate. I couldn't very well politely decline, now could I? It was a little too surreal, not to mention ridiculous. Since we don't like being places where drugs are, we left shortly thereafter. But it really was a nice party; aside from the Rick James moments, I had a good time and learned I shouldn't always assume I know everything about everyone.

Besides, I'm just cranky. I just saw one of my favorite political songs, "Big Country" (by, uh, Big Country) used in a KOHL'S commercial. Barf.

Work's been kicking my bum. I managed to squeeze through dramatic budget cuts unscathed. I still have my full time teaching line, and I'm spread out among a few other things: a curriculum committee for one department, a planning committee for an awesome Women's Studies event we'll be hosting in Spring, and a good natured race against a colleague to get a grant for our Women in Technology center. Good thing Project Runway was a rerun tonight.