78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



so...tired...
2005-05-15   6:52 p.m.

I'm finally at a place where I have time - time to clean, time to figure out which summer clothes to donate and which to keep, time to plan out fall and summer classes, time to see my friends. That last part was what I missed the most; though school and finals ended two weeks ago, I'd been on campus more this past week that I was on any given week mid-semester. While it's great for one's career to be on committees and go to conferences and present at colloquiums and participate in awards dinners, it means a forgoing of a social life that I've had to cling to in recent years anyway, lest it disappear on me completely. I love my work, but I don't want it to consume me the way it has recently.

Steve and I went away this weekend and it was just lovely. We got tons of rest and were able to see Steve's brother for a few hours - good considering that his deployment starts next week. He'll be gone for several months, and will write when he can. Since I didn't want to say "you, unharmed," when he asked if we wanted anything from where he's going, we asked for a rug. Things will be just fine, won't they? Yes.

On Thursday we stopped by John's house, and though we planned on staying for "an hour or so," we stayed for several, not wanting to leave conversations that ranged erratically from some kind of snake wrangling festival in Pennsylvania that John and his sister visit from time to time to teaching infants sign language before spoken words, to grammar errors that disturb us terribly ("50 Cent"; "orgasm" as a verb, "overages" as a word, period i.e.) yet are clearly becoming acceptable speech. In the midst of the grammar conversation, I looked around the room at the faces of several close friends and said "I love you guys!". I was teary which made everyone laugh - it's just really nice when you realize you have bonded so well with those close to you because of a shared weirdness. Talking about grammar at 1 am on a weeknight whilst sipping Pinot Noir? Weird. But at least we all find it fun.

Speaking of fun, and weird: Thomas is playing at a burlesque show on Monday night - at a place called Galapagos in Brooklyn. Though he's tried bribing us not to go, as I think he's been asked to play topless, I told him we wouldn't miss it for anything. I also told oh, the five or six friends I have living in Brooklyn and Queens to come by. Why the people who are running it want a bagpiper to play topless at the start of the night, I don't know - but I sure am excited to find out.

I'm going to watch a movie now. I have much to write about Peru, now that I finally have time to think about that too, but it will have to wait until tomorrow.


xo