78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



Trippin, indeed
2005-04-12   4:30 p.m.

Ok, I'm going to go ahead and be a snob.

Dear Cameron Diaz,

I watched a few episodes of your new show, Trippin', on MTV, and read an interview with you where you said you're trying to expose an otherwise unaware generation to the beauty of other cultures and natural resources, and I can totally respect that. While I do think it's great that you and your fabulous famous friends traipse around Chile and Nepal in tons of mascara, all covered in Prada scarves and whatnot, to bring this "message" to "the kids", I have to admit that I'm just a tad disappointed with a few things. First, and most importantly, I think you have to re-evaluate your "travelin' buddies". I know, for example, Redman doesn't seem to be able to be anything other than the caricature he and his record label have produced, but don't you think it was a little, um, disrespectful for him to be yelling "I'M A PIMP!!!" when you guys visited that Buddhist monastery in Bhutan? I felt embarrassed for him enough as it was, but then when he turned around and motioned to those female monks and said "I'M A PIMP WHEREVER I GO! DON'T MATTER WHERE I AM! THESE MY LADIES!!!", I felt really, really bad for you guys. I have to say I was relieved he caught himself before he referred to the women - some of whom looked horrified and confused, in case you didn't notice - as prostitutes, or the colloquial ho-s. Here's why that's especially not funny: women in Bhutan have struggled against forced prostitution for years, and it's become a major political issue. Can I make a suggestion? Next time you travel, try staying with and amongst some local people - and I don't mean the ones who bring your breakfast to your room in the Hilton - and you guys might be able to figure out what is and is not appropriate. I mean, if these people are really your friends, which you emphatically claim they are, then you'd want to save them from making asses of themselves on TV, right?

Also: tell your other friend, Eva Mendes, that she should can the girly act; it's just perpetuating stereotypes. I know that even Dian Fossey, whom of course you've heard of (that "Gorillas in the Mist" lady), was notoriously into glam stuff, and insisted that she be able to bring beauty products with her into the mountains of Uganda, no matter how frivolous, but I think Eva is over-doing it, especially with the product placement crap for Cover Girl. I've been on treks like the ones you guys did; I know that usually the last thing anyone is thinking about or cares about is how long "Covergirl lipstay lipcolor really lasts!". That was beyond cheesy and insulting, even if
it's part of Eva's job as a covergirl spokesmodel. It's just those comments, plus the claims that she doesn't want to break a nail, her squeals over snakes and spiders, and refusal to appear on camera until someone blow-dries her hair is a bit much. Because of all that, by the way, I didn't buy her crying and being overcome with joy in response those Nepalese children's conservation efforts. Sorry, too many inconsistencies. It's not a good sign if your travel documentary show looks like a poorly written film.

Finally: I know how cute all your friends are, but do you think the people and animals whom you've gone to visit might get just a tad more camera time? If not, you might as well just save the cash and film your friends being cool in someone's swank upper east side apartment.

I say this all out of love, Cameron, really, I do: I love to travel too, and wish people didn't screw up their faces in confusion when I announce my travel plans. I agree with you that it would be wonderful if people knew where Bhutan, Tanzania, and Nepal were, let alone know what the people did there or the country looked like. I, too, think we as Americans aren't connected enough to the rest of the world, or to the rest of the world's conservation efforts, and sometimes I blame the media for that, just like you said you do in that interview I mentioned earlier.

So much work, I know. But it might be better to make a few small adjustments to your format. Or did you really just want to show your friends partying and talking about animal poop amidst the backdrop of the token locals? Somehow I always afforded you more integrity than that. Feel free to write me - I'm easy with the free advice.


Your friend,

Theresa