78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



so proud
2005-01-27   10:06 p.m.

Wahoooo!

Peru! July and August!

And I'd really love it if you'd ask how much we got the plane tickets for. I mean I'd really love it, since we've been talking about it all day to whomever was unfortunate enough to be around to hear it.

"Are you sure you don't have to fly the plane?", said my mom.

"And you're sure you're not secretly booked as couriers on Aero Continente, or something?", said Kim.

"And that's for both ways?", said Thomas, "Cause you know, sometimes they're tricky like that..."

No, no tricks, no smuggling, no Aero Continente; good old fashioned research is what led me to finding two $350 per ticket seats from NYC to Lima on a nice, reputable American carrier. Fer crissakes, we paid nearly that to get down to Miami in December.

For sure, I should have been going just insane with papers and readings and students this week, since it's still the start of the semester, but things have been falling nicely into place, which means I've been able to spend hours on my old frugal tricks with booking/ticketing and resource sites.

What we'll be doing in Peru, and possibly Ecuador, I don't know. But we have plenty of time to figure that out, and my inner hypochondriac now has plenty of time to get over her newest obsession: altitude sickness.

The best part of all this is that we might have some friends to travel with, and that we might volunteer for part of our stay. I can't wait to neglect my work to plan all of this out. Something's gotta get me through February and the rest of this cold, dark month.

eeee!

I missed the rush.

xo