78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



oh no oh no oh no oh no oh no
2004-11-03   6:32 a.m.

I went to sleep last night feeling good, victorious - like things were going to change. How could they not?

I woke up this morning earlier than planned because the branches outside our window were thumping against the side of the building. Looking outside, I saw how windy it was, and how angry the sky looked, how violently the leaves were shaking and falling down.

I do not understand. "Oh no", and "Oh God", were all I could utter this morning when I found out how close this race was, and how close W. is to reclaiming his disgusting, gilded throne of lies. I am afraid for us, truly afraid for what will happen in this country over the next four years if Bush wins this election. We will invade Iran, we will invade Syria. Someone like Bin Laden wants Bush in office so that people will keep attacking us so virulently. We will see more people die - many, many more people die. I don't believe that we won't have a draft, and I'm not ready for all my cousins and friends between the age of 18 and 25 to be killed in the middle of some desert by roadside bombs or beheadings so that the rich in this country can make some more goddamned money.

Say good bye to the middle class - and
hello to the growing poverty that Bush's tax cuts for his extremely wealthy friends will create. Just watch - already people can't afford houses in the suburbs unless they make over 100 K/year. I hope we're all ready for the kinds of riots that went on in the 60's, because in a matter of months, it'll all come flooding back.

I'm actually wondering if my husband will have a job next year since under these bullshit "I care about education! really, I do!" policies, schools are being DOWNSIZED AS IF THEY'RE FUCKING CORPORATIONS. And while that happens, Dick Cheney's oil company grows richer and richer. Wow, great priorities! I hope the people who voted for this man understand how quickly they'll be stabbed in the back by him. "Moral values" are so important, apparently. What does that mean? Ok, so we don't want gays to be regarded as human beings and don't want anyone to have abortions. Is it moral to lie, moral to rush to war, moral to kill people via the death penalty? Is it moral to say "my religion is the best, and the only..." by using your ideals to make decisions? Is it moral to take very careful, practiced measures to make sure that extremely wealthy people have to pay less taxes than the FUCKING JANITORS WHO CLEAN MY OFFICE? If that's morality, I'm a class-A idiot, because I just can't make the connection.

More war, more poverty, less civil rights. Forget about just banning gay marriage, I have a feeling we'll return to the days when we jailed homosexuals just for being who they are, or tried to force "psychological help" on them. That's the kind of skewed, faith-based policy that Bush is interested in. And don't think people haven't voted Representatives in who would support such disgusting, backwards ideas about who has the right to exist and who doesn't. I'm disgusted. Truly disgusted.

William Renquist is dying. Now there are more seats for the Supreme Court available than we first thought, and W. will do the appointing. Roe v Wade will be overturned. And forget stopping there - I'm afraid for what law will come next that will un-do women's rights. They'll stop at nothing. I wonder if within the next four years, we'll do away with free reproductive health care clinics completely? Can we send our mammogram bills to the White House specifically, or what?

And think of all the cures we would have been able to find if we had a sane person in office who didn't make decisions based on his born-again, extremist, hysterical fundamentalist view of the world. Forget about that now - without funding, all the unused embryos that people fertilize and want to donate will go right in the trash. I suppose that's what we mean by "respect for life". Or is "respect for life" when we send young men and women to die because we have to please daddy and make sure our friends' oil companies make some money? Or is "respect for life" what you engage in when the American bodies pile up in Iraq and you wear a flight suit that says "MISSION ACCOMPLISHED! HOOOOORAY! LOOK HOW WELL THINGS ARE GOING! WHAT A FUCKING SUCCESS! GO MEEEEEE!"

God forgive me for what I'm thinking now. I am praying that someone logical who can actually create a culture of global dialogue (rather than global violence) takes office. I am praying that someone who is interested in protecting civil rights rather than destroying them takes office. I am praying that someone who values all people, not just the extremely wealthy, takes office.

I do not believe what an easy sweep W has made of some states. I don't know if I don't believe it because I literally think the results have been fixed, or if I'm in denial that people could be so thoughtless and easily manipulated. No middle or working class person should have voted for Bush - he's someone who works against us by putting tax burdens on us and never cutting us a needed break. But I guess that's not as important to people to making sure we punish homosexuals for being who they are.

I think we'll move to Japan. I think I'm so angry I'm being overly-emotional right now. I think I need to go to school and give my exam. I think I'll have a melt-down today if I don't go have some White Tea right now

Thank God, thank god thank god thank god for Barak Obama.

I want them to live in a great country. I never want them to ask "What was Alaska like?" I want them to have some form of social security. I want them to go to school in a culture that values education. I don't want Andrew to become aware just in time to watch more bodies pile up on the news every night. I want Katie to feel like she has the right to control and value her own body. I want them both to feel like they are free to marry and love whomever they want, free to worship whatever they want. Will that happen? I've never been this scared in my life.