78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



Tummy Troubles
2004-08-17   8:14 p.m.

Ugh. Zambian gin? A river parasite? Bilharzia? What is making my stomach churn and churn, revealing the disappointing fact that I will not, after all, escape this journey illness-free?

Oh, that's right, it's the MCDONALDS I ate in Amsterdam this afternoon.

Oh, hi from Europe, btw.

So yes, like an arse, I did something I haven't done in nearly a year - ate fast food and drank soda. Well, it was the only thing open so early and I had to eat something before the anti-malarials I HAD to take in the morning burned a hole through the lining of my stomach.

The funny irony of all this is that after eating mealie meal with spicy sauce all over southern Africa, saying what the hey and eating dairy, drinking tap water, swimming in the Zambizi and the Okavango Delta, getting bitten by various insects, and putting all my systems through the African ringer, it's the friggin McDonald's that's made me feel like poo.

I'm getting over it slowly, though, which is good - I want to enjoy some time back in good ole Europe here before we have to go home.

Just as I thought, it was really, really hard to say good bye to Southern Africa and the friends we'd spent so much time with. I nearly started crying when Gavin walked us out to the shuttle that would take us back to the airport.

I'm trying not to be grumpy, and remember that I still am in a beautiful place right now. If I just mope about the place, bitter over having to leave Africa, I might find when I get home that I missed out on something in Hungary.

Now wouldn't that be a waste of a few thousand dollars?

Be home soon, fortunately and unfortunately.

xo,

T