78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



I don't want to go
2004-08-16   11:13 a.m.

Back in lovely downtown Jo'burg. Heh. Jo'burg is neither lovely nor a "downtown", but a sprawling expanse of urban landscape and impoverished flats. One thing it is full of, though, is culture, and we've been absorbing as much as possible here before we have to go back to Europe.

I really, really don't want to leave. I really, really mean it. I've felt comfortable here, and like we fit in - a rare feeling for me. I'm going to miss Gavin, who took us a couple of weeks ago to the best gay bar in Melville. I'm going to miss Alfred and his sweet disposition and love of real experiences. I know how expensive it is to come to NY on a SA salary, so I won't expect them to be visiting anytime soon.

This is hard.

But, I am looking forward to being in Buda again. I am looking forward to starting school, especially since I just opened a lovely email from my new dept. chair offering me a Women in Lit class, the one I've ALWAYS wanted to teach. I am looking forward to being home just long enough for Bruno's show, and then flying down to florida so we can have some vacation time to recoup from this vacation time. Steve's parents just missed hurricane charley, thank god.

I'll update from buda if I can, for now, I'm just going to enjoy the last bits of SA.

love,

T