78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



...And there won't be snow in Aaaaafrica this Christmas-tiiiime....
2004-07-18   2:02 p.m.

Yes, the greatest gift they’ll get this year is love. Or is that life? I’m not up on my 80’s holiday benefit-songs. How did it go again?

That one in particular, though, I’d always thought was absolutely ridiculous, with its imperialist, ego/Christian-centric “Do they know it’s Christmastime at all?” questioning, which though perhaps innocent, managed to negate the validity and worth of all other religions or “world-views”. They’re so “lost” they don’t even know it’s CHRISTMAS!, the song insisted.

“But maybe some people in Africa don’t celebrate Christmas,” I remember saying to either a brother or a parent. I can’t remember the response I was given as a child, but I think it’s the question that was more important. Funny, the things we remember, aren’t they?

In mere hours we’ll be in Budapest, and BUDAPEST es KORNYEKE! I don’t know what it means either.

I’ve short-shrifted Budapest here since I’ve been talking about Southern Africa so much. This is not because I’m not as equally excited to go there, but because Budapest is trustworthy and reliable somehow; a staple and symbol of stability when compared to iffy Johannesburg. It will be nice to return to Budapest after we’re through in Botswana – nice to be coming back to a place that will have become already familiar and comforting.

I’ll write as much as I can. I will not get mugged, nor will Steve. We decided if approached in such away, we’ll start yelling “PRAISE HIM! [Baptist preacher style] MONKEY POO AND CHEDDAR CHEESE! WHOOP, THERE IT IS!” and then run like hell. We’re hoping the first part, that non-sensical string of phrases (with its inclusion of a religious reference – this always helps to disarm momentarily in countries where missionaries have done some damage to the cultural psyche; exploitive of a shameful oppressive past, yes, but we’re talking about avoiding violent conflict here) will knock whomever for a moment, buying us time to finally see how well all those treadmill/biking hours have paid off.

But really, we’ll be fine. Like I said, I’ll write as much as I can. If I’ve gathered your address in the last 72 hours, look for a postcard that we may or may not beat home. We’ll be back for a day or two in late August, and then we’re flying to Florida to see Steve’s parents’ new home. Then when we return from that, someone (me) has work like, the next day.

It is nice to go to somewhat hostile places every once and a while – I say this because I often hear “I love you” from friends who don’t normally say such things (even though they may be thinking or feeling it). I guess they’re somewhat afraid for us which is kind of sweet, though unnecessary, really; but I have so enjoyed hearing that a few times as I was saying good bye to a few friends in these last few days. “Be careful; I love you” will resonate in my head all the way to Budapest International Airport.

As always, send us good thoughts so that we do not die a horribly, fiery death in a plane crash. Our families get everything if we go.

Since that’s an awful note to end on, I’ll say this: I’ll miss everyone very much. Have fun enjoying the summer - have a wonderful July and August.

Much love,