78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



In the air tonight
2004-06-19   12:38 p.m.

A sultry thickness, a density in the air, is surrounding our little village right now, just like it was last night.

We ditched Bruno and stayed at a bar in Montclair for a while, leaving that place for a party when my friend called to say "Please, come!".

It was fun, but the florescent lights in the kitchen alternately sucked out my soul and reminded me of my grandmother's kitchen. We left around two, and drove home in the thickness. It felt amazing on my skin, driving with all the windows down, leaning my head down on the door.

It felt like driving around and around an island, under a swath of stars, on an island - the kind where there is nothing except for life at the far end. At night all you can see is the lights of the distant city, the one you've just been driving away from, and thick, inky blackness. You're alone, together, and the air is dense, you feel like you're swimming.

Of course, there was no sea breeze. But when we finally got home and into the bedroom, the white noise of the fan on medium had a similar effect.

I am in such a good mood - I adore this weather. I'm most comfortable when it feels tropical, when the weather forces everyone to slow down, forces everyone to come out at night to escape the stifling heat that builds up in doors. I love it when the heat forces everyone into a time schedule that makes more sense, eating later and staying up later just to enjoy the cool - taking longer lunch breaks just to rest between working. And of course, I hate central air conditioning.

But that's just me.

We're going to a spa today to have massages; we both need it badly. Tonight, early evening, we see Ladysmith Black Mambazo and a few other South African musicians at Prospect Park in Brooklyn. I'm excited for both; it's high time I started feeling far away from this world.

xox,