78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



Miscellany
2004-06-17   12:35 a.m.

So I've been covering some of Michael Kimmel's theories of power, patriarchy, and American masculinity with my WS class over the last few days. He's one of the few feminist theorists whose ideas I agree with completely. We have, intentionally or not, a sexual division of power in this country that is absurdly unequal. Kimmel says that is just as detrimental to men as it is to women. He says that men fear losing absolute power since they're pressured to have it in the first place - they wouldn't know what to do without it. They'll often resort to violent tactics when they feel their power has been threatened. See also: COLUMBINE or GEORGE W. BUSH.

So we talk about how Kimmel's theory works in our every day realities. My students discuss their work situations, their parents, their children, their university lives. I remind them of how it works in some of the short stories or poetry we've been reading together. Then I get into my car to drive home, turn on the radio, and hear all about this already-botched Iraqi interim government. Then I laugh and laugh and laugh like I know a secret no one else knows.

Other things I heard on the radio today: Reagan (he died, did you know?) on the $10? Well I guess it does make sense to put a RAGING CAPITALIST on our currency. The ITALIANS put Maria Montessori on their currency. And she was a doctor and a teacher, of all god-forsaken things! But they drive small cars that conserve gas, space, and the environment. They let their CHILDREN drink wine sometimes. They eat well and TAKE LONG VACATIONS. What the hell do they know?

Yes, poor, poor President Reagan. Some of my mother's family suffered from Alzheimer’s, and she's terrified it will affect her someday and by default, us. Maybe Republican Nancy's stem-cell research campaign will knock some sense into this non-sensical babble about banning the use of those fertility-clinic embryos lying around that were going into the dumpster anyway. Yes, what were we all thinking, using them to promote HEALTH and LIFE? What we should be focusing on is kidnapping women in which to implant those embryos! Biology is destiny, after all.

I don't remember much about Reagan's presidency, except, of course, my father's complaints. I'm not a liberal out of the blue, you know. But the media blitz, declarations of national days of mourning (complete with t-shirts for sale on the internet adorned with ubiquitous cowboy-portrait of our former president), and hap-hap-happy memories of the good ol' days peaked my interest, so I did a little research. I found a record that rivals W's, and was left wondering WHO THE HELL VOTED THE MAN INTO A SECOND TERM. I found a charming man, a wonderful speaker, a good diplomat who could smile and play nice with the USSR after some water went under the bridge, okay. But I also found a man who COMPLETELY IGNORED THE HOMELESS for eight years, and a man who completely ignored an emerging health crisis that initially, only the GAYS got. I guess that made it OK. But even when AIDS spread so rapidly, to say, to do - nothing? WOW!

I guess it's no different than now, though, considering we systematically ignore that AIDS has a grip on millions of people worldwide. But those are brown people who come from countries where there are no slurpees, reality TV, or cool heiress sex videos, so who cares? What have THEY ever done for US, anyway?

You know it would take close to nothing (literally) to help. In fact, we used to. A lot. However, W's fear of anything (clinic, institution, etc.) loosely affiliated with the potential to perform abortions means that we've cut the funding to clinics that provide condoms and educational programs to countries that need them most. Not to mention a loss of funding also means a loss of protease inhibitors and other drugs that provide communities that suffer most (one in FOUR PEOPLE in Northern Zimbabwe are infected, for example) some faint signal of hope. WAY TO GO, BIG GUY!

At least the Dutch, as usual, have stepped in and picked up the slack, providing the funding that our stingy ass has taken away. I knew I loved Amsterdam for a reason. There's love in my heart for those crazy, pot smoking, multi-language speaking, bike riding hippies.

So the 80's prom was a B L A S T. I think this is one of those rare occasions in which the pictures will tell the story much better than words ever could, so I'll just do a brief recap of highlights 'til my pictures come back tomorrow: my hair in such a side ponytail all night that the little indentation/wave pattern was still in it the next morning until I washed it, re-piercing Steve's ear and trying to get his hair to flat-top, Dave's Miami Vice, seer-sucker suit and LOAFERS (no socks-nice!), faux-hawk girl hitting on Thomas all night, finally hearing The Beat's "Sooner or Later" in close proximity to a dance floor and getting to dance to it with Steve, my friend MJ, whom I haven't been able to hang out with in months, showing up in the most AWFUL sequined dress, Nicole's pearls and clever avoidance of a leather-pants clad DEVO wannabe, Thomas giving everyone copies of his original prom picture (circa 1987, MULLET GALLORE), Sebastian's suspenders and repeated questions about how, exactly, he and I know each other, Sharon's HUGE black cross earrings, and finally, the Jersey City Prom Committee throwing the most off the hook party we've ever, ever, EVER been to. The lights, the 80's flicks playing on the ceiling, the bathrooms all done-up, the table decorations, the food, the booze - it was just so perfect.

I think my excessive use of CAPS LOCK today is a good visual indication of my GOOD MOOD. I'm expressing EMOTION, you see, and I'm feeling very ALIVE today. I was lucky enough to see my friend Kevin on his birthday, as Friday night turned into Saturday morning. We talked politics and culture for a few hours, and he reminded me that really sane, intelligent people are always just a phone call away. I also got to see most of my other close friends Sunday morning on lovely Church street in Montclair for what turned into a 10 person brunch. There was some weirdness with seating arrangements, but things worked out and the morning became relaxing and fun.

This also explains my good mood. Plus, I swam forever yesterday, and forgot how much fun that was. I hate coming out of the pool and being cold, but there's no chance of that happening this month. I do believe it's swimmin weather.

xo

Oh yes, I do have ONE picture - it's our official prom pic, though only a polaroid and poor in quality. I guess that's kind of authentic, no? Note my lacy bobby socks sticking out under the lattice-work and Steve's aqua blue tank top-and-tux combo. If only our hair showed up a little more.