78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



Slept it off
2004-04-03   1:05 p.m.

Wow, I shall ask nothing of the party goddess again all year. Last night couldn't have gone better - the perfect amount of people showed up, I honestly couldn't have imagined more or less. There aren't any left-overs, and no one fainted, set themselves on fire, or broke stuff. I think we were too powerful cosmically to allow any of that to happen - though it was a party for Steve's birthday, half the guests were having birthdays as well. My friend Irene showed up with a guy who announced it was his birthday at midnight, prompting Amy to make the same announcement, Michael to tell everyone that he and Thomas share a birthday that also just recently passed, and Lisa to remind everyone that hers is just around the corner.

I found it really nice that people who normally check out after an hour or by 11 stayed so late. Bruno and Nicole lit Steve's birthday candles around 1:30 and we all sang to him, and as the party dwindled down I got to talk to Julie, Cheryl, Scott, and a lot of other people I never get to see enough of. We still had guests well past 3, and this time I quite enjoyed that; I haven't had a good, talking-till-4-am time in a while, and I was really happy I got to participate in that with new and old friends. Dawn teased John on their way out the door around 4:30. "So we'll just stay for a couple of hours, huh?", she said. "Sorry", he replied, "Good people, good conversations". It was very much that kind of night, and it made Steve a very happy Birthday boy.

We sort of kind of just woke up, and I must clean now for Steve's birthday brunch tomorrow. The house still smells like Chrysanthemums and Hyacinths somehow. Will wonders never cease?

xooxox