78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



ack, indeed.
2004-04-01   10:50 p.m.

Ah, arrogance. Or faked arrogance. Or is that confidence? Or is that real arrogance? Whatever it is, it's my attempt to convey that I'm a GOOD teacher, a promising scholar, and innovative when it comes to curriculum design and development. It's all true, so why shouldn't my potential full-time-we-pay-for-all-Ph.D.-course-work-and-publish-your-articles employers know that?

My handiwork over the past few hours has culminated thusly:

The upper division courses I have taught for Rutgers’ Women’s Studies Department have included writing-intensive sections as part of the University’s Writing Across the Curriculum Program. Being interdisciplinary in nature, these courses borrow from and focus on several academic fields. We have studied texts from the Humanities, including literature, art, drama, and music, and texts from the Social and Natural Sciences, including Sociology, Anthropology, Biology, and Psychology. Since Women’s Studies courses attract students from a variety of different majors, I have tailored the class to encompass these several content areas, with a particular focus on students interested in technology or business-related careers.

Teaching a variety of courses related to Gender, Class, and Race Studies has allowed me to incorporate similar themes into some of the more basic-level courses that I teach. I am interested in developing pedagogy, curriculum, and course materials for writing classes that also reflect these themes, as I believe it better prepares students for the increasingly diverse world of careers in a global community. For this reason, I am also intent on pursing a Ph.D. at Rutgers University in Fall of 2005 in Women’s and Gender Studies with a focus on teaching and pedagogy.

ooooh, you bet! Think it'll land me the position? Think I'll have half a brain left to teach my class tomorrow? Think I'll have time to make it to lunch with my bistest-friend and bake a cake before the party? Think I'll be able to dust the ceiling fans before the guests arrive? Think some of said guests could manage a simple yes or no RSVP, since money doesn't grow on trees and I'm trying to determine whether that extra four people means I should acquire more beverage? Think simple manners, common courtesy and social skills are just lost on some people? Tsk, tsk. I suppose I should be more understanding. But I'm on academic-diva high, so watch out cause when I get like this my ivory-tower ideology goes a-flyin'. And if you don't like it, well...you can just go teach at Malcolm X Shabazz High School.

And to think, I could still be teaching at Malcolm X Shabazz HS if it weren't for the right people pushing shy, humble little me into the fellowship program at Rutgers four years ago.

Now I'll just go 'head and git down with my confident self.

I know, I know: show-off. Touché, Diane.

Apologies for the inside joke,

T!

12:40 a.m.!

Interview processes! Letters of Intent! An updated CV! A list of my recent publications! Memos! Party plans! Wrapping paper!

ack.

busy week. You?

xoxoxox

T