78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



Sunday Sunday
2004-03-29   9:08 a.m.

Sundays have been so good and relaxing lately I wake up Monday quite confused about where I am and what time it is. Good think I've straightened myself out - I'm due to teach at 1 today.

This, you see, is the product of years of stressed-Sundays, that "ugh it's Monday tomorrow" feeling that would ruin the day.

I gave that up, though, when I met Steve, I guess; he had such a different approach to life that it showed me a better way.

So I credit him directly with how glorious Sundays have been and how my attitude has changed. Last week we went to a belated St. Patrick's day parade, the one in which Thomas' pipe and drum band were playing. We learned, besides that he looks really cute in a kilt, that Thomas plays the bagpipes really well - not an easy thing to do. I'd only heard him play once before that years ago while we were all drunk, sitting around his living room. This was quite a different experience. After the parade we hung out at a near-by pub with the entire band for a few hours, and Thomas even let us hold his bagpipes while he went to the bathroom. eeeeee!

This Sunday (or yesterday) we went to my bro's for dinner. Aside from being a bit alarmed that I could pack it in like my three and a half-month pregnant sister-in-law, I had a really good time. After dinner we went for a walk by the little pond behind my brother's condo and fed the ducks that live there. In the process of chasing after one of the slower ones, my nephew tripped and fell on a duck. I wish I could say I was one of those adults who ran to his rescue, but I was nearly on the ground myself, laughing so hard. It wasn't so much that my nephew fell, as that's what new walkers do when they try to run, but that the duck freaked out, started flapping her wings and squawking. Don't know why it was funny - I'm just perpetually 12 years old sometimes.

I'm so happy the sun is out longer lately; the whole weekend was just beautiful. It was near sixty one of these days and mid-fifties the other, so we got to ride our bikes and play outside all day. All we need now are some leaves on the trees and for me to be able to leave the windows open in the apartment, and I'll hardly get cranky anymore until next November or so. All this light means my plants, including one African Violet, one Aloinopsis malherbei (look at me showing off! That's a jewel plant), some hyacinths and assorted ferns, are very happy. All these temperate days mean I can leave the windows open to allow some moisture to come in (it's perma-dry in our apt, despite running humidifiers) without fear of freezing the plants to death.

Steve's birthday is next week and he's decided it would be fun to have a party here. I should say, actually, we both decided it would be nice to have a few people over - perhaps ten or so. But our friends have lives, the kind that interfere with one's desire to go to a birthday party. Our friends run their own businesses, have children, have art exhibits or plays they're directing, and weekends are prime "other stuff" time. Thinking, then, that so-and-so can't make it, we extend invitations to other so-and-so's until we can't even recall who we told to come by or whether or not they're likely to show up. I went to a Sure Shot party on Saturday, for example (Sure Shot is a Skate company, and such companies will often have "parties" in which they premiere videos or promote some new gear), and happened to run into a number of friends I hadn't seen in a while. I told one of them about Friday but then realized I'd have to invite all of them or risk being incredibly rude.

So here we are, once again, not sure how many people to expect on Friday. Will we have eight? Will we have thirty? Will we have something in between? No way of knowing. Oh well, it always seems to work out somehow. Something tells me I'd prefer the smaller number in theory, but have fun catching up with people who randomly decide to stop by that I haven't accounted for.

I have to clean this week and figure out what kind of "food" I'll be offering. I need something easy but something good. Something not quite dinner but filling enough to be a good sponge, considering my plan to make cosmos and martinis. Something cocktail-party-esque. Any suggestions?

View/Leave Comments

yours,