78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



blaaah
2003-07-21   1:45 p.m.

"28 Days Later" is not a sequel to "28 Days", the movie about Sandra Bullok in rehab. It is, however, an interesting foray into post-apocalyptic humanity and survival struggles. It comes highly recommended from me, though here and there I had to suspend my disbelief, and I just hate that.

My husband, the cripple, is lying on the couch with his foot elevated and a homemade ice pack rubber banded to his toe. It's a clean break, the x-ray seems to say, but we have to go to good ol Dr. Parisi today, the one who fixed my feet so many years ago. Thanks to everyone's countless jokes, wondering if "his warranty is still good?" and "how could you have broken him already? You just got him!", I am mildy amused enough not to worry too much.

We went to Waywayanda State Park on Sunday anyway, because I needed to drive around someplace nice and because we're stubborn. It's beautiful, homes are lost in the woods - i'm thinking now more than ever that would be the place for us. The isolation of some parts of Greece made me resistant and resentful of my home now - i hate the noise and the disregard for others.

Still confused, though, and still looking. The department of defense is hiring teachers for overseas jobs just about anywhere, and the salary is better than what i'm making now. Steve and I are their ideal employees - married, both teachers wanting to work, no dependents. Yes, interest rates are lower than they ever have been, and blah blah blah, but how can we give up a huge salary increase and a cut in half of cost of living? Imagine what we'd be able to save. Imagine the stories I'd come back with, and the urges it would satisfy in both of us. I know I could always come back to Rutgers, and I know that Steve could take a year leave from teaching in Franklin.

Steve is not to move, that is until he goes to the Iron Maiden concert on Friday with Ryan. I hope Ryan takes good care of him. If he comes back with an even more broken toe(s) because someone accidentally steps on him, I just can't be held accountable for what I do.

I'm looking at Belize and Costa Rica. I'm looking at Paris and Rome. There are so many deals right now, a click away, on 5, 6, 4 day stays. Where should I go? Since we only have a week, i'm open to suggestions.

Naxos pictures coming next.

xoxox,

T