78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



going to puerto rico tomorrow, so who cares anyway?
2003-04-14   8:34 p.m.

I must say that pride is a funny, funny thing. I've seen it, especially lately, turn once respectable and caring people into seething drama queens with vengence plans to carry out. What on earth could possibly matter that much? Certainly not little us, in the grand scheme of things. From Zen Koan: "When you can do nothing, what can you do?" Certainly words to live by, for me anyway.

Not being bitter was a hard lesson for me to learn, so I can understand why so many people are unenlightened. It hurts, though, more than anything else that becomes personally insulting, that people I cared about and care about still or once looked up to fall into the trap of resentment, jealousy, or bitterness. Especially if you know of the talent or kind heart that lies buried inside! It's hard to say this to friends, though, and it's painful: you recognize their position, but have to let them learn the lesson for themselves. I'm glad i did.

I'm not thinking about this now, though, i refuse, since i'm going to puerto rico tomorrow! We'll be there till sunday night - i can't wait to actually spend some time alone with steve. Funny, the lives of teachers: during the day, you work. at home, you work. on the weekends, you work. If we didn't have summers off, we'd go nuts. But then, of course, if you're me, and you have no health insurance, etc., you teach summer classes to sustain your self.

grrrr.

Had a good weekend - did family stuff, watch my nephew roll around (his current mode of travel) a lot, and swam for ever at the Y. Life is good! Have a great week, and send me good wishes, so that i do not die a horrible, firey death in a plane crash.

xoxoxox

T