78uuu lumière des étoiles

Dusty:Starlight:Culture



YAY, Ghana!
2003-04-07   1:17 a.m.

I think pictures tell a story best, don't you? I often wish we were back in Ghana. See for yourself why.

We had an amazing welcome in Amfoeta Tsebi, a small village outside of Ho in the Volta Region. Ghanaians are big on ceremonies.

I miss manual labor.

Steve made a lot of friends.

I made some too! This is Mama Afi, the village's Queen Mum, giving me a Kente Stole and a hug.

We weren't dirty and wearing the same clothes ALL the time. We dressed up for village ceremonies. Did I mention Ghanaians are big on ceremonies? Remind me to discuss later.

Of course we travelled a lot, all around the country, in fact. These are some shots from Owabi Wildlife Sanctuary. Feast your eyes on our sweat and blood - we hiked through with about 15 k a piece on our backs, and since it was immediately post rainy season, both of us fell about three times, getting us all hyper about guinea worm (ew!). At least we saw lots of monkeys.

We were lucky enough to get out to the beach at Busua, which the Bradt guide book described as a "hippie surfer" Westerners hang out. We were very happy to find it deserted, except for one pretty plush hotel with moderate prices. And good Ratatouille, go figure.

We stopped off at Kpando to visit the village of Stephanie, a friend who had worked there in the peace corps for three years. Note the welcome ceremony, and steve and I gittin' down, yee hah.

More to come, I promise :)

WHO AM I, ANYWAY?